Version selection: LocalCDN downgrades frameworks
A website I am visiting requests plyr 3.6.2, which is the latest release of plyr. LocalCDN only has the older version, 3.5.10, so it downgrades plyr:
[ LocalCDN ] Replaced resource: resources/plyr/3.5.10/plyr.min.css
This is good for privacy (and bandwidth), but we cannot benefit from potential bug fixes and improvements in new versions.
- Option to disable downgrading?
- Log to console when a newer version is requested by website?
- Subscribe to (GitHub, GitLab...) RSS feeds of all frameworks to receive updates when a new version is released?
By the way:
Missing resource: cdnjs.cloudflare.com/ajax/libs/plyr/3.6.2/plyr.min.js
and the following non-JS/CSS resources are also requested by the plyr framework:
Thanks for your report. Normally a downgrade isn't intended, only an upgrade. But this happens when the website is new or has been rebuilt. It is very rare that a website updates a framework. I have never noticed anything like this before. Usually the website is created with certain versions and stays that way.
Subscribe to (GitHub, GitLab...) RSS feeds of all frameworks to receive updates when a new version is released?
I already have a subscription to many frameworks, so I update them by myself. Unfortunately Plyr was not included.
I think these two can be ignored. The SVG file is empty for me anyway.
The SVG cannot be ignored because it is an SVG sprite.
Example test URL (base64):
If you block the SVG, clear the browser cache and reload the page, you will find that the icons used in the Plyr controls will be missing. Revealing the SVG's source by a text editor also proves that the SVG is not empty.
blank.mp4, according to Plyr's readme, is "a blank video file used to properly cancel network requests". I am not sure what this means though.
In my case the icons are loaded correctly, while the connection is blocked and the cache is disabled. I added this anyway.
I can always reproduce by:
- Fresh browser profile
||https://cdn.plyr.io/3.6.2/plyr.svgin uBlock Origin
- Load the webpage and icons are not loaded (screenshot)
Anyway, thanks for the fix!
Deleting a branch is permanent. It CANNOT be undone. Continue?